A Constant Reminder

A Constant Reminder

2 Peter 1:12 – Therefore, I intend to remind you constantly of these things even though you know them and are well established in the truth that you now have. 13 – Indeed, as long as I am in this tabernacle, I consider it right to stir you up by way of a reminder, 14 – Since I know that my tabernacle will soon be removed, because our Lord Jesus Christ revealed this to me.

Peter knew he was going to die.  This wasn’t some kind of general knowledge that sooner or later we’ll all die.  Peter knew specifically what manner of death he was going to die because Jesus told him.  

I tell you the solemn truth, when you were young, you tied your clothes around you and went wherever you wanted, but when you are old, you will stretch out your hands, and others will tie you up and bring you where you do not want to go. (Now Jesus said this to indicate clearly by what kind of death Peter was going to glorify God.) After he said this, Jesus told Peter, “Follow me.” – John 21:18-19.

Jesus told Peter he would glorify God with his death.  Knowing that each day brought him closer to such a fearful demise Peter diligently sought to remind all believers to “make every effort to be sure of your calling and election. For by doing this you will never stumble into sin. For thus an entrance into the eternal kingdom of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, will be richly provided for you.” – 2 Peter 1:10-11.

It’s not like Peter had a terminal illness.  Peter’s faith in Jesus was terminal.  Jesus would be the cause of his death.  Peter had, before Jesus died and rose again, boldly promised to go to death for Jesus, yet when the hammer fell, he discovered he was not ready.  Jesus reinstated Peter, and told him once again to ‘follow me.’  Filled with the Holy Spirit Peter was ready to make good on his promise to follow Jesus to the death.  

After reading all this, I realize how lightly I treat my calling without any sense of the urgency or conviction that following Jesus is going to result in my death.  I will inevitably make the discovery like Peter that I’m not ready to face death or my execution or resist unto blood striving against sin.  That’s why Peter’s constant reminders are for me…and maybe for you too.

Jesus wants to provide entry into the eternal kingdom for all of us.  Let’s make the effort and be serious about our calling.  Heaven is waiting.  Jesus is waiting.  Let’s follow Him today!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started