Casting All Cares

Casting All Cares

1 Peter 5:6 – And God will exalt you in due time, if you humble yourselves under his mighty hand 7 – by casting all your cares on him because he cares for you. 

verse 8 – Be sober and alert. Your enemy the devil, like a roaring lion, is on the prowl looking for someone to devour. 9 – Resist him, strong in your faith, because you know that your brothers and sisters throughout the world are enduring the same kinds of suffering.

verse 10 – And, after you have suffered for a little while, the God of all grace who called you to his eternal glory in Christ will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you. 11 – To him belongs the power forever, Amen.

When I woke up this morning I reached for my glasses like I’ve done thousands of times and I felt something tiny fall from them and land somewhere.  The tiny thing that fell was the one little screw that holds the right side of the frame snug against the right lens holding it in place.  Now it hangs slightly open threatening to release the lens if I move about just the wrong way.  You can imagine what happened next – I began carefully going through the folds of the bedding hoping to see it, but no – it wasn’t going to be that easy. What began as a minor annoyance was beginning to grow into something that was threatening my entire day until my oldest son saw my increasing agitation and offered to pray.  So he prayed a simple but beautiful prayer and now, I’m typing before you feeling very proud and thankful – And that screw?  I still haven’t found it yet, but that’s ok – it’s a care among all the others that we’ve cast on Jesus, because if we’re not careful the devil will use anything he can to ruin us and weaken our faith.

There are others who are suffering in small and big ways right now at the same time as we are.  Maybe you awoke to some small thorn in the flesh poking at you threatening to derail your day – pause for a moment to pray or let someone else pray for you – you’re not alone.

May Jesus Christ Himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you. To Him belongs the power forever! Amen!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started