Egypt in Trouble

Egypt in Trouble

Ezekiel 29:1 – In the tenth year, in the tenth month, on the twelfth day of the month, the word of the LORD came to me: 2 – “Son of man, turn toward Pharaoh king of Egypt, and prophesy against him and against all Egypt. 3 – Tell them, ‘This is what the sovereign LORD says: “‘Look, I am against you, Pharaoh king of Egypt, the great monster lying in the midst of its waterways, who has said, “My Nile is my own, I made it for myself.”

Did the Pharaoh really make the Nile?  Does the Pharaoh own it?  When God asserts His ownership of the world, nations fall to ruin.  Reading through chapters 29 and 30 we learn that Egypt becomes completely destroyed and is restored, but never regains its former glory.  God says in Ezekiel 29:13-16 – “‘For this is what the sovereign LORD says: At the end of forty years I will gather Egypt from the peoples where they were scattered. I will restore the fortunes of Egypt, and will bring them back to the land of Pathros, to the land of their origin; there they will be an insignificant kingdom. It will be the most insignificant of the kingdoms; it will never again exalt itself over the nations.  I will make them so small that they will not rule over the nations. It will never again be Israel’s source of confidence, but a reminder of how they sinned by turning to Egypt for help. Then they will know that I am the sovereign LORD.’”

Even today Egypt as a nation doesn’t carry much significance in the world, except only as a historical landmark of what it once was.  God’s Word is true!  Remember what happened to Nebuchadnezzar of Babylon when he took credit for making Babylon?  God pronounced judgment on him, he lost his mind and for seven years he wandered the wilderness looking like the animal gods he loved to worship so much.  Remember what happened to Herod when he received worship from the people saying his voice was like that of a god and not a man? He was smitten with worms and died.  

If we exalt ourselves like gods, God promises that we will be humbled.  James 4:10 says – Humble yourselves before the Lord and he will exalt you.

Let’s end with Nebuchadnezzar’s words which he spoke when his sanity returned to him:

But at the end of the appointed time I, Nebuchadnezzar, looked up toward heaven, and my sanity returned to me. I extolled the Most High, and I praised and glorified the one who lives forever. for his authority is an everlasting authority, and his kingdom extends from one generation to the next. All the inhabitants of the earth are regarded as nothing. He does as he wishes with the army of heaven and with those who inhabit the earth. No one slaps his hand says to him, ‘What have you done?’ At that time my sanity returned to me. I was restored to the honor of my kingdom, and my splendor returned to me. My ministers and my nobles were seeking me out, and I was reinstated over my kingdom. I became even greater than before. Now I, Nebuchadnezzar, praise and exalt and glorify the King of heaven, for all his deeds are right and his ways are just. He is able to bring down those who live in pride. – Daniel 4:34-37.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started