Hand Clap and Sword Strike

Hand Clap and Sword Strike

Ezekiel 21:14 – “And you, son of man, prophesy, and clap your hands together. Let the sword strike twice, even three times! It is a sword for slaughter, a sword for the great slaughter surrounding them. 15 – So hearts melt with fear and many stumble. At all their gates I have stationed the sword for slaughter. Ah! It is made to flash, it is drawn for slaughter! 16 – Cut sharply on the right! Swing to the left, wherever your edge is appointed to strike. 17 – I too will clap my hands together, I will exhaust my rage; I the LORD have spoken.”

I learned something from one of my colleagues yesterday called ‘Dap.’  It is a non-traditional type of greeting that can involve fist-bumps and customized hand-shakes.  I didn’t realize that my kids and I have already done it for years but didn’t know it had such a name.  One such ‘dap’ my son and I have done often is when we clap our hands together in a handshake such that it makes a very loud, echo-like, satisfying reverberation.  My colleague and I attempted to do the same thing with very unsatisfying results.  We’ll need to keep practicing our ‘dap’ to get it right.

God instructed Ezekiel to clap his hands together with each clap possibly representing a sword strike of judgment.  The judgment clap will shake the ground like an earthquake causing many to stumble and melt with fear.  God also said He would also clap with Ezekiel.  Imagine Ezekiel and God clapping their hands together in ‘dap’ giving the judgment warning together!  The world can’t help but notice when the ground rumbles from the reverberating echo.

Will you dap with God?  Hand in hand, cooperating together?  There is no more satisfying feeling than to work with God for the salvation of souls.  I received such an incredible sensation when I last had the privilege of giving Bible studies to prisoners about a week ago.  We were sounding the warning and giving the gospel message of hope together.

Don’t ignore the call of God.  If you feel you are being called by God to help in a Bible study ministry or any kind of ministry for lost souls, but fear your inexperience, don’t fret.  God will help you with confidence, courage, and content.  Clap your hands together with God.  Dap with Him and you will know a satisfaction the world cannot offer.  Let’s work with God today! 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started