Don’t Leave Without Jesus

Don’t Leave Without Jesus

Luke 2:48 – When his parents saw him, they were overwhelmed. His mother said to him, “Child, why have you treated us like this? Look, your father and I have been looking for you anxiously.” 49 – But he replied, “why were you looking for me? Didn’t you know that I must be in my Father’s house?” 50 – Yet his parents did not understand the remark he made to them.

Jesus was twelve years old.  Following Jewish custom  they brought Jesus to Jerusalem for the Passover feast – and then something happened.  Joseph and Mary began their journey to return home and mistakenly left Jesus behind.  They assumed Jesus was with them when they left and didn’t know that He stayed behind in Jerusalem.  Then came the panicked searching.

After Joseph and Mary found Jesus in the temple and rebuked Him, Jesus asked them a couple of questions.  The first one was this:  “Why were you looking for me?”  Placing myself in Joseph’s shoes – why would I be looking for Jesus?  What would I be feeling?  I lost the child that I had been given responsibility to raise.  I lost the boy who would be the Savior of the world.  I’d be responsible for the failure of the plan of God.  Such world-ending apocalyptic thoughts!  and maybe the greatest fear of all – the sense that I’m lost if I can’t find Jesus.

Have there been times that we’ve left Jesus behind while pursuing other things?  Are there times when we’ve assumed Jesus was with us without actually doing the prayer and Bible Study to confirm it – only to discover that we’ve been living life without Him? Don’t be afraid to return to Him – no matter if it’s been 3 days, 3 months, 3 years or 3 decades. Jesus can still be found.  We can go back to where we lost Him and see that He has always been engaged in His Father’s business:  saving souls.  Ours included.  Some of you reading this have spent Christmas away from home.  When you return, make sure to bring Jesus with you.  When you go back to work, bring Jesus with you.  In every conflict and challenge, bring Jesus with you.  Don’t leave without Him.

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you; I do not give it to you as the world does. Do not let your hearts be distressed or lacking in courage.” – Jesus – John 14:27.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started