Vast Sum of Thoughts

Vast Sum of Thoughts

Psalm 139:14 – I will give you thanks because your deeds are awesome and amazing. You knew me thoroughly; 15 – my bones were not hidden from you, when I was made in secret and sewed together in the depths of the earth. 16 – Your eyes saw me when I was inside the womb. All the days ordained for me were recorded in your scroll before one of them came into existence. 17 – How difficult it is for me to fathom your thoughts about me, O God! How vast is their sum total! 18 – If I tried to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand. Even if I finished counting them, I would still have to content with you.

So, I did some brief internet searches this morning and found out that the estimated number of atoms in the average human body actually outnumbers the estimated number of grains of sand on earth.  Here are the numbers:  atoms in the human body – 7x(10 to the 27th power); grains of sand on earth – 7.5x(10 to the 18th power).  If we consider the thoughts of God to number one thought for every atom in our bodies then the thoughts of God do indeed reach a vast sum far outnumbering the total amount of sand grains on the entire planet.  And that’s just for one person! Now multiply that by the world’s population and we begin to realize how truly difficult it would be to fathom God’s thoughts about us.

For I am conscious of my thoughts about you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you hope at the end. And you will go on crying to me and making prayer to me, and I will give ear to you. And you will be searching for me and I will be there, when you have gone after me with all your heart. – Jeremiah 29:11-13.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started