My Greatest Joy

My Greatest Joy

Psalm 43:3 – Send out Your light and Your truth; let them lead me. Let them bring me to Your holy mountain, and to the place where You dwell. 4 – Then I will go to the altar of God, to God, my greatest joy. I will praise You with the harp, O God, my God. 5 – Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why the unease within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise Him, my Savior and my God.

Have you ever been frustrated by the contradictions in life?  What I mean is – If I profess to be a Christian, then why am I so sad, so fearful, or so depressed?  In other words, why am I so unhappy?  The everlasting gospel is the good news about Jesus Christ, the Son of God, who loves us and gave Himself for us.

The light of truth shines brightly in the Bible, leading us to the place where God dwells.  We need to let that light shine and then bathe in its glow.  To the Psalmist – God was his greatest joy.  God was given his praise.  And after all this he asked a puzzling question that we can all relate to:  Why are you downcast, O my soul?  Why the unease within me?

Do not let fear overwhelm the joy.  The gospel of Jesus Christ is real.  Let Jesus be your greatest joy.  Place all your hope in Him for it is this hope alone that “does not disappoint us, because God has poured out His love into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, whom He has given us. – Romans 5:5.

Holding on to any sin nourishes the contradiction and leaves us fearful when we should be joyful.  Like Adam and Eve when they hid in fear from God when they heard Him walking in the garden.  God was their greatest joy!  And He had become their greatest fear.

Keep in the light of Jesus and let Him become and remain your greatest joy.  The fears may come, but don’t lose hope.  Let’s continue to praise Jesus, our Savior and God today and forever!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started