His Saving Intervention

His Saving Intervention

Psalm 42:5 – Why are you depressed, O my soul? Why are you upset? Wait for God! For I will again give thanks to my God for his saving intervention.

A brief internet search revealed that roughly 1 in every 10 Americans is taking some kind of antidepressant.  This doesn’t mean, however, that every person taking an antidepressant is depressed.  Some are dealing with chronic pain.  Others may be dealing with addictions and these medications help.  The bottom line is:  everyone is dealing with some kind of suffering and we take medication to help deal with it.

In this Psalm written by the Korahites the verses that follow read like this:  I am depressed, so I will pray to you while I am trapped here in the region of the upper Jordan, from Hermon, from Mount Mizar. One deep stream calls out to another at the sound of your waterfalls; all your billows and waves overwhelm me. By day the LORD decrees his loyal love, and by night he gives me a song, a prayer to the living God. I will pray to God, my high ridge: “Why do you ignore me? Why must I walk around mourning because my enemies oppress me?” My enemies’ taunts cut into me to the bone, as they say to me all day long, “Where is your God?” Why are you depressed, O my soul? Why are you upset?  Wait for God! For I will again give thanks to my God for his saving intervention. – Psalm 42:6-11.

My thoughts this morning are on all of you.  I acknowledge your pain and your need for medication.  Keep waiting for God.  Sometimes it seems like He’s not there and it adds to our depression; it makes us angry.  Believe that His love for you has been decreed and written in Scripture.  Listen to the Christian songs, ancient and modern, that praise and glorify His name.  He will give us the prayers to say.  He will point us to the cross and to Jesus who understands and we will again give thanks for His saving intervention.

One thought on “His Saving Intervention

  1. Thank you for this, Pastor Chin.
    This earthly pain only serves to make me more homesick and determined to “be there” – when we sit down to that promised banquet with the King.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started