God Remembered Noah

God Remembered Noah

Genesis 8:1 – But God remembered Noah and all the wild animals and domestic animals that were with him in the ark. God caused a wind to blow over the earth and the waters receded. 2 – The fountains of the deep and the floodgates of heaven were closed, and the rain stopped falling from the sky.

As I type these words I can hear the wind blowing outside.  I can only imagine what it must have sounded like from inside the ark.  Everyone felt the movements of the vessel as it was carried by the waters.  How rough a ride was it?  Did the timbers creak and groan as their limits were being tested? The cramped space was a far cry from the freedom of movement they were all used to in the open world.  Was this to be their new normal?  How long would they be able to hold out?

As bad as it must have seemed it was far better to be inside.  It’s far more blessed to have shelter in a time of storm.  Like the words to the song:  The Lord’s our rock, in Him we hide, a shelter in the time of storm.  Secure whatever may betide, a shelter in the time of storm.  Mighty rock in a weary land, cooling shade on the burning sand, faithful guide for the pilgrim band – a shelter in the time of storm.

The Lord is providing shelter even now from the harsh elements of the world.  It’s tempting to think of how confining and restricting it can be or that one could be having so much more ‘fun’ out there.  I guarantee you, being in the storms of this world without the shelter of Christ is no fun – as the stories of many ruined lives dashed to pieces can testify.  

God has not forgotten you.  Just as God remembered Noah, He remembers you in whatever wilderness trial you may find yourself in and will lead you to a fulfilling, abundant life. “As for me, I will sing about your strength; I will praise your loyal love in the morning. For you are my refuge and my place of shelter when I face trouble. You are my source of strength! I will sing praises to you! For God is my refuge, the God who loves me.” – Psalm 59:16-17.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started