Pure in Heart – Katharos Kardia

Pure in Heart – Katharos Kardia

Matthew 5:8 – “Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.”

Katharos Kardia – The Greek words for ‘pure in heart’ have a different feel to them.  The dictionary vividly defines the phrase as when the center and seat of the spiritual life or the will and character of a person is free from all corruption, sin or blame.

We are not naturally like this.  Ecclesiastes 9:3 says – This is the unfortunate fact about everything that happens on earth: the same fate awaits everyone. In addition to this, the hearts of all people are full of evil, and there is folly in their hearts during their lives – then they die.

We can’t possibly see God when our hearts are so full of evil.  Even Moses, regarded as the meekest of men, was only permitted to see God’s glory from behind (see Exodus 33:23).

What is the remedy for our condition?

Psalms 51:10 – Create for me a pure heart, O God! Renew a resolute spirit within me!

Ezekiel 36:26 – I will give you a new heart, and I will put a new spirit within you. I will remove the heart of stone from your body and give you a heart of flesh. 27 – I will put my Spirit within you; I will take the initiative and you will obey my statutes and carefully observe my regulations.

1 Peter 1:22 – You have purified your souls by obeying the truth in order to show sincere mutual love. So love one another earnestly from a pure heart.

These verses are only the tip of the iceberg.  There are many more.  We cannot remain as we are.  We must permit Jesus to change us.  We need Him to give us a heart transplant – to exchange our corrupt hearts for pure ones.

Draw near to God and he will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners, and make your hearts pure, you double-minded. – James 4:8.

Let’s draw near to God.  Gaze upon the cross upon which our Savior died and let Him perform soul surgery upon our hearts – so that we can truly love God and each other.  The blessing of God awaits us for He wants to see us face to face.  I want to look Jesus in the eye when He returns and not hide my face from Him in shame.  Let’s give it all to Him now and let Him do His blessed work upon our lives today!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started