Hello, My New Name Is …

Hello, My New Name Is …

Isaiah 62:1 “For the sake of Zion I will not be silent; for the sake of Jerusalem I will not be quiet, until her vindication shines brightly and her deliverance burns like a torch.” 2 – Nations will see your vindication, and all kings your splendor. You will be called by a new name that the LORD himself will give you. 3 – You will be a majestic crown in the hand of the LORD, a royal turban in the hand of your God.

Receiving new names is also mentioned in Revelation 2:17 in the letter to the church in Pergamum:  The one who has an ear had better hear what the Spirit says to the churches. To the one who conquers, I will give him some of the hidden manna, and I will give him a white stone, and on that stone will be written a new name that no one can understand except the one who receives it.’

Read also Revelation 3:12 in the letter to the church in Philadelphia:  The one who conquers I will make a pillar in the temple of my God, and he will never depart from it. I will write on him the name of my God and the name of the city of my God (the new Jerusalem that comes down out of heaven from my God), and my new name as well.

Our old names are associated with our old lives sort of like Jacob (the deceiver) before God gave him his new name:  Israel (overcomer) after they wrestled together.  New life is coming.  Jesus wasn’t kidding when He said He would make all things new.  We will have new bodies, new lives, and new names to go with those lives.  Imagine meeting new people in heaven and introducing ourselves by our new names.

Before all this happens, however, God is already doing the work of making new creatures out of us.  So then, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; what is old has passed away – look, what is new has come! – 2 Corinthians 5:17.  I’m looking forward to introducing myself to you by my new name!

Dear Lord, I’m in a bad place right now and my name is like Jacob’s.  Please forgive me!  Place me in Christ today!  Make me into a new creature!  May I receive my new name one day according to your promise.  Thank you for your faithfulness to me!  Amen!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started