Only One Sheltering Rock

Only One Sheltering Rock

Isaiah 44:6 – This is what the LORD, Israel’s king, says, their protector, the LORD who commands armies: “I am the first and I am the last, there is no God but me. 7 – Who is like me? Let him make his claim! Let him announce it and explain it to me – since I established an ancient people – let them announce future events!

verse 8 – Don’t panic! Don’t be afraid! Did I not tell you beforehand and decree it? You are my witnesses! Is there any God but me? There is no other sheltering rock; I know of none.  9 – All who form idols are nothing; the things in which they delight are worthless. Their witnesses cannot see; they recognize nothing, so they are put to shame. 10 – Who forms a god and casts an idol that will prove worthless? 11 – Look, all his associates will be put to shame; the craftsmen are mere humans. Let them all assemble and take their stand! They will panic and be put to shame.

One of the latest concerns today is over the rise of artificial intelligence.  Today’s verses help me to place it in a more realistic perspective.  AI has no claim in being like God. It will prove worthless.  Who are its craftsmen?  Mere humans!  And they are already panicking and being put to shame – fearing that AI will soon condemn humanity.

People are desperate to see AI as a sort of synthetic therapist and educator.  They even want to use AI as a tool to connect people with the memory of dead relatives in order to gain some measure of closure.  Do we really want to shelter under this synthetic, artificial god – that gives the illusion of seeing and recognition?

We have a living Protector who created humanity.  He was there before we began.  He is the first and He is the last.  He was before the universe and He will be there after the universe goes extinct.  He is the only being capable of announcing future events with unerring accuracy.  Check out the prophecies in the Bible to see the evidence.  Let’s be God’s witnesses today!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started