We Are About to Die!

We Are About to Die!

Mark 4:38 – But he was in the stern, sleeping on a cushion. They woke him up and said to him, “Teacher, don’t you care that we are about to die?” 39 – So he got up and rebuked the wind, and said to the sea, “Be quiet! Calm down!” Then the wind stopped, and it was dead calm. 40 – And he said to them, “Why are you cowardly? Do you still not have faith?”

Jesus calmed the storm to satisfy the cowardly and faithless. At that time the cowardly and faithless were His own disciples.  I look back in my life at all the times I begged Jesus to calm my storms only to realize that I was cowardly and faithless too!

Oh to have the faith of Jesus – to be found sleeping on a cushion in the midst of storms bringing me to the brink of death.  I want to face death with the confidence of Jesus – who already had peace within Himself to face down any conflict.

But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you everything, and will cause you to remember everything I said to you. “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you; I do not give it to you as the world does. do not let your hearts be distressed or lacking in courage.” – John 14:26, 27.

We may come to the brink of death many more times before Jesus returns.  May the promised Advocate teach us everything and cause us to remember everything we need to know about Jesus – so we may face each storm with the peaceful calm of Christ already present in our lives.

Have a blessed Sabbath!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started