The Way to Calvary

The Way to Calvary

Luke 23:33 – And when they were come to the place, which is called Calvary, there they crucified him, and the malefactors, one on the right hand, and the other on the left.

Yesterday I spent time with my eldest son, helping him with some snow and ice removal.  While we were accomplishing everything a blizzard was on its way. I remember gathering my things in preparation for the 100 mile trip home while watching the wind begin to blow and anxiety began to grow within me.  Was I going to make it?  I embraced my son before driving away and I began to pray for God to help me make it home.

Praise the Lord! I’m typing these words from the warmth of my home and I’m listening to raging wind blowing outside.  God helped me make it home just before the roads began to close.

This morning I woke up looking back on yesterday’s events and began to think of the path that Jesus took for me.  I was so nervous about how I was going to make it home.  It can’t even compare to what Jesus was facing.  He knew He was going home too but a great storm called the cross and the grave lay straight in the path of his journey back to His Father.  Jesus had to travel the way to Calvary before going home.

What grieves me this morning is that my sins helped put Jesus on that path of pain, suffering and death.  What gives me hope is that Jesus willingly chose this path to save me.

Lord I lift your name on high
Lord I love to sing your praises
I’m so glad you’re in my life
I’m so glad you came to save us!

You came from heaven to earth
To show the way
From the earth to the cross
My debt to pay
From the cross to the grave
From the grave to the sky
Lord I lift your name on High!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started