Undefeatable Purpose

Undefeatable Purpose

Job 42:1 – Then Job answered the LORD: 2 – “I know that you can do all things; no purpose of yours can be thwarted;

verse 3 – you asked, ‘Who is this who darkens counsel without knowledge?’ But I have declared without understanding things too wonderful for me to know. 4 – You said, ‘Pay attention, and I will speak; I will question you, and you will answer me.’ 5 – I had heard of you by the hearing of the ear, but now my eye has seen you. 6 – Therefore I despise myself, and I repent in dust and ashes!

I’ve encountered many people who’ve been angry at God at one point or another in their lives.  Maybe you’ve been angry at Him too for one reason or another.  Job was upset, to put it mildly.  Everything was gone except his life, his wife, and his God.  His children, his wealth, and his health were gone and to add to all his bitterness, his friends could only argue theology with him to try and convince him that he must have done something terribly wrong in order to make God angry enough to put him through all this loss.

Job’s love for God was unquestionable.  He was ready to die but not without defending himself to God. Job didn’t have all the information until God revealed himself; then Job admitted he was making declarations without the understanding of things too wonderful for him to know.  After the revelation of God Job declared “no purpose of yours can be thwarted.”  That’s a huge statement coming from a man who lost almost everything.  It’s a statement of victory.  It’s a statement of faith.  No matter what the devil does to any of us he cannot thwart God’s purposes.

I will tell about your justice, and all day long proclaim your salvation, though I cannot fathom its full extent. – Psalms 71:15.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started