Clothed for the Struggle

Clothed for the Struggle

Ephesians 6:10 – Finally, be strengthened in the Lord and in the strength of his power. 11 – Clothe yourselves with the full armor of God so that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil.

verse 12 – For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world rulers of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavens.

I have truly been appreciating the warmer temperatures.  Last week our windchill temperatures here in the Dakotas dropped to -55F!  Yes, you read that correctly – negative 55 degrees fahrenheit!  It was staggeringly cold!  I still had to walk my dogs each day so it was crucial for me to be properly clothed so I could stand against the cold.  Fortunately I didn’t have to stand in the cold for long and neither did the dogs.  They did their thing and we rushed back inside as soon as possible. 

My point is:  I had to be fully and properly clothed in order to withstand temperatures that would give frostbite to any exposed skin in as little as 5 minutes.  Now how long do you think any of us would be able to stand against the schemes of the devil without being properly clothed with the armor of God?  Honestly, I don’t think I could last even 5 minutes before succumbing to distorted thinking on any number of negative stimuli that the devil is constantly throwing my way.

Let’s be strengthened in the Lord!  Don’t even go a moment on your own strength.  Let’s live today and every day clothed in the strength of God’s power!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started