Mother and Son

Mother and Son

Luke 1:38 – And Mary said, Behold the handmaid of the Lord; be it unto me according to thy word. And the angel departed from her.

Fast forward to the garden of Gethsemane: “And he was withdrawn from them about a stone’s cast, and kneeled down, and prayed, Saying, Father, if thou be willing, remove this cup from me: nevertheless not my will, but thine, be done. And there appeared an angel unto him from heaven, strengthening him.” – Luke 22:41-43.

Both Mary and Jesus submitted to the will of the heavenly Father.  How about you and me?  These incredible records of history exist to give us hope and strength that in our hour of trial and weakness angels will also be sent to help us humbly discover that God has chosen us to be heirs of salvation (see Hebrews 1:13,14).  We are called to be His servants in sharing this incredibly good news.  We have the choice  to submit to a Word and Will greater than our own.

May our response to God be like Mary and Jesus.  Behold the servant of the Lord; be it unto me according to thy word.  Not my will but thine!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started