Who is the LORD?

Who is the LORD?

Exodus 5:1 – Afterward Moses and Aaron went to Pharaoh and said, “Thus says the LORD, the God of Israel, ‘Release my people so that they may hold a pilgrim feast to me in the desert.'” 2 – But Pharaoh said, “Who is the LORD that I should obey him by releasing Israel? I do not know the LORD, and I will not release Israel!”

Pharaoh was linking knowledge of the Lord God with obedience.  He didn’t know God, hence there would be no obedience to the command from God to release Israel.  The Pharaoh and all Egypt would soon get an introduction to who the One true God really is.

Who is the Lord, to you?  Jesus asked the disciples in Matthew 16:15:  “But who do you say that I am?”  16 – Simon Peter answered, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.” 17 – And Jesus answered him, “You are blessed, Simon son of Jonah, because flesh and blood did not reveal this to you, but my Father in heaven!…”

The Father in heaven then said these words at the transfiguration of Jesus – “This is my one dear Son, in whom I take great delight. Listen to him!” – Matthew 17:5.  Moses had listened, now he was encouraging Pharaoh to listen but Pharaoh stubbornly refused all the way to his destruction.

I will admit – I don’t know Jesus like I should and I fall into disobedience time and time again.  This may be you as well.  Don’t give up hope!  1 John 1:9 says – “If we confess our sins He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”  One thing about Jesus is that He is faithful and just to forgive.  From the cross Jesus cried out – Father, forgive them for they know not what they do – Luke 23:34.

God the Father, God the Son, God the Holy Spirit – they are all united in their desire and effort to save us.  You know what that confirms for me, no matter how many times I fall and crawl back to God for forgiveness?  It confrims for me that God is love!  Who is the Lord?  The Lord, He is God!  And God is love!

May our knowledge, love, and obedience to Jesus grow deeper today and everday forever!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started