Joseph and Potiphar

Joseph and Potiphar

Genesis 39:1 – Now Joseph had been brought down to Egypt. An Egyptian named Potiphar, an official of Pharaoh and the captain of the guard, purchased him from the Ishmaelites who had brought him there. 2 – The LORD was with Joseph. He was successful and lived in the household of his Egyptian master. 3 – His master observed that the LORD was with him and that the LORD made everything he was doing successful. 4 – So Joseph found favor in his sight and became his personal attendant. Potiphar appointed Joseph overseer of his household and put him in charge of everything he owned.

What stands out in this part of the story for me is Potiphar’s observation.  Potiphar saw that the Lord was with Joseph. 

Check out these verses:  Do everything without grumbling or arguing, so that you may be blameless and pure, children of God without blemish though you live in a crooked and perverse society, in which you shine as lights in the world by holding on to the word of life so that on they day of Christ I will have a reason to boast that I did not run in vain nor labor in vain. – Philippians 2:14-16.

Joseph shone as light in Potiphar’s house.  He shone so brightly that Potiphar himself testified that God was with Joseph.  I can only imagine how it must have felt for Joseph to be sold into slavery by his brothers for 20 pieces of silver.  Let me ask you:  Who was better off – Joseph or his brothers?  Joseph had God. The brothers had 20 pieces of silver and a guilty conscience for they had to endure their father’s grief.

God may permit things to happen to us that cause us terrible pain but let us be faithful to God knowing that by continuing to hold on to the word of life in the midst of hardship we will shine even brighter in the world just like Joseph and just like Jesus.

Here are some additional verses to consider:

Even if my father and mother abandoned me, the LORD would take me in. Teach me how you want me to live; lead me along a level path because of those who wait to ambush me! Do not turn me over to my enemies, for false witnesses who want to destroy me testify against me. Where would I be if I did not believe I would experience the LORD’s favor in the land of the living? Rely on the LORD! Be strong and confident! Rely on the LORD! – Psalm 27:10-14.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started