Reuben to the Rescue

Reuben to the Rescue

Genesis 37:21 – When Reuben heard this, he rescued Joseph from their hands, saying, “Let’s not take his life!” 22 – Reuben continued, “Don’t shed blood! Throw him into this cistern that is here in the wilderness, but don’t lay a hand on him.” (Reuben said this so he could rescue Joseph from them and take him back to his father.)

Reuben, the oldest, did not like the idea of killing Joseph and rescued him from the plot of death hatched up by the other brothers.

I have to admire Reuben, he wanted to go so far as to bring Joseph back to his father.  He succeeded in saving Joseph’s life for that was God’s plan but he was unable to bring him back at the time of his choosing.  The reunion between father and son would not happen until much later.

We have a big brother named Jesus who has promised to rescue us from evil and bring us to the Heavenly Father.

Check this out:  My sheep listen to my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish; no one will snatch them from my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one can snatch them from my Father’s hand. The Father and I are one. – John 10:27-30.

Let’s listen and follow the voice of Jesus and know that one day soon He will come again and rescue us from this wicked world and bring us to our Heavenly Father to be together with them forever!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started