Jesus is the Door

Jesus is the Door

John 10:1 – “I tell you the solemn truth, the one who does not enter the sheepfold by the door, but climbs in some other way, is a thief and a robber.

Verse 7 – So Jesus said to them again, “I tell you the solemn truth, I am the door for the sheep. 9 – I am the door. If anyone enters through me, he will be saved, and will come in and go out, and find pasture. 10 – The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come so that they may have life, and may have it abundantly.

Jesus is the door. The only way to salvation is to enter through Jesus and find pasture with Him. Psalm 23:1 and 2 say – The LORD is my shepherd, I lack nothing. He takes me to lush pastures, he leads me to refreshing water. There is no other way but through Jesus.

What would be people be wanting to find in this pasture why they would seek to bypass the door? Why would people want to avoid Jesus altogether and be classified as thieves and robbers? What are they looking to steal? The answer I’m thinking of is – salvation. Humankind has always sought the means to live forever. Jesus is the answer to the mystery of life but has revealed that thieves and robbers want the means to live but they do not want Jesus. By rejecting Jesus, true life is rejected as well. How can we obtain life, but reject the One who gave us life with His own breath? That’s like wanting to breathe but refusing to take a breath of His life-giving air!

Jesus, the good shepherd, is in pursuit of His sheep. He is in pursuit of you! He is the good shepherd and He is the door. We don’t need to panic and seek to scramble into life through other means. We’ll only find that the life we seek will be forever out of reach.

Psalm 23:6 says – Surely your goodness and faithfulness will pursue me all my days, and I will live in the LORD’s house for the rest of my life.

May the goodness and faithfulness of God catch us in His love so we can find true life in Jesus, rest in His pasture, and find a place in His house for the rest of our lives!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started