Follow the Light

Follow the Light

John 8:12 – Then Jesus spoke out again, “I am the light of the world. The one who follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

If we follow Jesus, the light of the world, we will have the light of life. What happens if we just follow the world and ignore the light? We end up walking in darkness traveling headlong towards death.

The light of Jesus cuts through the lies of the world and gives us something to focus on. The Psalmist says in Psalm 119:105 – “Your word is a lamp to walk by, and a light to illumine my path.”

David continues by describing his awareness of the peril he is in – verse 109 – My life is in continual danger, but I do not forget your law. 110 – The wicked lay a trap for me, but I do not wander from your precepts. 111 – I claim your rules as my permanent possession, for they give me joy. 112 – I am determined to obey your statues at all times, to the very end.

David was determined to follow the light of God to the very end. All the traps of the wicked are intended to get us to take our eyes off the divine light and onto everything else. Our lives, as David described, are in continual danger. Let’s determine to always walk in the light of Jesus so we will not fall into the traps set for us in the darkness of this world.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started