A Longing Fulfilled

A Longing Fulfilled

Proverbs 13:12 – Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is like a tree of life.

Sarah laughed. Nursing a child born to herself and Abraham in their old age was a promise only God could fulfill. And He fulfilled it at a time in their lives when it seemed most impossible.

Jacob claimed a readiness to die after receiving the impossible joy of being reunited with his son Joseph whom he was convinced had died a violent death.

Hannah dedicated her son Samuel to the Lord after the Lord had granted her prayer longing for a son.

Sarah, Jacob, and Hannah endured the heart sickness of deferred hopes and then received the impossible joy of their longings fulfilled.

Jesus wants to show us that He can do the impossible – not just any impossible thing, but the most impossible things of all. We may go through life having all our hopes deferred and getting sick at the thought of dreams not reaching their fulfillment but look at what Psalms 17:15 says – As for me, because I am innocent I will see your face; when I awake you will reveal yourself to me.

Jesus will make me innocent and He can make you innocent. He died on the cross to do this. When I die, whether it is early or late – I will awake to see Jesus revealed.

I an guilty of so many things. My greatest longing is to be cleared of all sin and to see Jesus. Every failure I suffer makes me sick at the thought that I am not worthy. I am not innocent. Every time I look at Jesus I am reminded that He is worthy. He is innocent. He promises to do the impossible and change my heart, forgive my sin, and give me His worthiness and innocence. He has to do it because I cannot.

When Jesus comes again I will laugh with Sarah at the impossible redemption made possible; I will awake with Jacob who was willing to die with confidence in God and I will stand with Hannah determined to dedicate my brand new, innocent, sinless life to the Lord for all eternity.

Let’s trust the Lord together knowing by faith that one day soon our deepest longing for God will be fulfilled and we will see “flowing down the middle of the city’s main street. On each side of the river is the tree of life producing twelve kinds of fruit, yielding its fruit every month of the year. Its leaves are for the healing of the nations.” – Revelation 22:2.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started