Walking with God

Walking With God

Genesis 5:21 – When Enoch had lived 65 years, he became the father of Methuselah. 22 – After he became the father of Methuselah, Enoch walked with God for 300 years, and he had other sons and daughters. 23 – The entire lifetime of Enoch was 365 years. 24 – Enoch walked with God and then he disappeared because God took him away.

I wish to have a life like that – to walk with God so closely that He would take me away from here. I wish upon my family that kind of walk. I wish upon all of you that kind of walk as well. Sometimes we think a life like Enoch’s is so out of reach when in reality that is what God has been wanting all along – for us to walk with Him so closely that we’ll be ready to meet Him when Jesus comes again to take us away to His Father’s house.

Jesus said these words in John 14:1-3 – “Do not let your hearts be distressed. You believe in God; believe also in me. 2 – There are many dwelling places in my Father’s house. Otherwise, I would have told you, because I am going away to make ready a place for you. 3 – And if I go and make ready a place for you, I will come again and take you to be with me, so that where I am who may be too.

Given how short our lifespans are, Enoch actually had a much longer wait for God to take him than we will ever experience. We may spend some time waiting in death but we won’t know it. The Scriptures say the dead know nothing (Ecclesiastes 9:5). All the waiting and walking with God we will be doing will be the brief extent of our lives and then the resurrection when Jesus comes again. Let’s not be discouraged in thinking that a life like Enoch’s is so out of reach – it is actually well within reach. We can start walking with God today knowing that one day soon – with a far shorter wait than with Enoch – Jesus will come again and take us to be with Him.

L. D. Avery-Stuttle wrote the words to this precious hymn: O Let Me Walk with Thee, My God. It goes like this:

O let me walk with Thee, my God, As Enoch walked in days of old; Place Thou my trembling hand in Thine, And sweet communion with me hold; E’en though the path I may not see, Yet, Jesus let me walk with Thee.

I cannot, dare not, walk alone; The tempest rages in the sky, A thousand snares beset my feet, A thousand foes are lurking nigh. Still Thou the raging of the sea, O Master! Let me walk with Thee.

If I my rest my hand in Thine, I’ll count the joys of earth but loss, And firmly, bravely journey on; I’ll bear the banner of the cross Till Zion’s glorious gates I see; Yet, Savior, let me walk with Thee.

Dear Jesus, let us walk with you today! Amen!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started