Storm Sleep

Storm Sleep

Luke 8:18 – One day Jesus got into a boat with his disciples and said to them, “Let’s go across to the other side of the lake,” So they set out, 23 – and as they sailed he fell asleep. Now a violent windstorm came down on the lake, and the boat started filling up with water, and they were in danger.

Verse 24 – They came and woke him, saying, “Master, Master, we are about to die!” So he got up and rebuked the wind and the raging waves; they died down, and it was calm. 25 – Then he said to them, “Where is your faith?” But they were afraid and amazed, saying to one another, “Who then is this? He commands even the winds and the water, and they obey him!”

Jesus was asleep. His awareness of what was going on around him went to sleep with Him. It basically disappeared. What stayed intact was His faith in His Father,

The disciples were awake. They were awake and aware of the storm and the danger. With that awareness came fear and in that fear their faith basically disappeared. Their lack of faith demanded Jesus to be awake and aware. A Jesus who was present but asleep was not enough for them. With Jesus asleep and unaware they felt they were in mortal danger and didn’t even consider praying to the Father, like Jesus always did.

When our storms hit – our faith tends to disappear rather quickly. Let’s keep a constant prayer connection with Jesus so that even when we fall asleep and are unaware, we will awake with the confidence that Jesus has never left us.

Check out these verses from Psalm 139. Verse 1 – O LORD, you examine me and know. 2 – You know when I sit down and when I get up; even from far away you understand my motives. 3 – You carefully observe me when I travel or when I lie down to rest; you are aware of everything I do. 4 – Certainly my tongue does not frame a word without you, O LORD, being thoroughly aware of it.

Verse 5 – You squeeze me in from behind and in front; you place your hand on me. 6 – Your knowledge is beyond my comprehension; it is so far beyond me, I am unable to fathom it. 7 – Where can I go to escape your spirit? Where can I flee to escape your presence?

Verse 8 – If I were to ascent to heaven, you would be there. If I were to sprawl out in Sheol, there you would be. 9 – If I were to fly away on the wings of the dawn, and settle down on the other side of the sea, 10 even there your hand would guide me, your right hand would grab hold of me. 11 – If I were to say, “Certainly the darkness will cover me, and the light to turn to night all around me,” 12 – even the darkness is not too dark for you to see, and the night is as bright as day; darkness and light are the same to you.

Jesus is always aware of us. His love is constant for us. Storms may suddenly break upon our lives while we sleep and we are suddenly awakened to perilous situations. May we awaken in peace and not panic knowing Jesus is always with us.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started