Don’t Even Think About It

Don’t Even Think About It

Matthew 5:27 – “You have heard that it was said, ‘Do not commit adultery.’ 28 – But I say to you that whoever looks at a woman to desire her has already committed adultery with her in his heart.

Verse 29 – If your right eye causes you to sin, tear it out and throw it away! It is better to lose one of your members than to have your whole body thrown into hell. 30 – If your right hand causes you to sin, cut it off and throw it away! It is better to lose one of your members than to have your whole body go into hell.

I’d run out of physical eyes and hands that would have to be cut off so that my whole body would be spared the punishment of hell. How can I escape the thoughts in my brain and the imaginations of my heart? Jesus set the bar so much higher than how the commandment is typically read that I would need a conversion experience. Jesus would have to take my old life and give me a new one; complete with a new heart and mind so that I could see every woman as a precious child of God.

Today’s verses are the threat and promise of Jesus Christ to all who would illicitly desire any woman. Jesus cut himself off from the land of the living and took up His life again in order to save them all. He is their Almighty Husband who has loved and claimed them all as His own. Their guardian angels behold his face every day. Every man should tremble at the thought of taking advantage of any of these precious souls.

Check out the following promise:

Jeremiah 32:39 – I will give them a single-minded purpose to live in a way that always shows respect for me. They will want to do that for their own good and the good of the children who descend from them. 40 – I will make a lasting covenant with them that I will never stop doing good to them. I will fill their hearts and minds with respect for me so that they will never again turn away from me.

May God fill our hearts and minds with respect for Him so that we will choose to live in ways that respect Him. Let us allow God to give us minds single to the purpose of living for Him so that we are not drawn away by the desires of sin.

Thank-you Lord, for your everlasting covenant of love and for always doing good to us. Please keep every man reading these words from adultery in his heart and keep us all from adultery with other gods for there is no one like You. May we never turn away from you again. Amen!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started