Persecution

Persecution

Matthew 5:10 – “Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to them. 11 – “Blessed are you when people insult you and persecute you and say all kinds of evil things about you falsely on account of me. 12 – Rejoice and be glad because your reward is great in heaven, for they persecuted the prophets before you in the same way.

I could sense Elijah’s frustration, exhaustion, perplexity, sadness, and fear when just a message from Jezebel threatening him with death put him to flight. Who among us can blame him for running away? He finally let all the years of conveying the strength and confidence of God in front of others melt away in the presence of God as he twice said the words in 1 Kings 19 verses 10 and 14 – “I have been absolutely loyal to the LORD, the sovereign God, even though the Israelites have abandoned the agreement they made with you, torn down your altars, and killed your prophets with the sword. I alone am left and now they want to take my life.”

I love being passionate about Jesus Christ, preaching and singing the gospel message to my congregations. I love exploring the Bible together with people. But I have faced a handful of people over the years who have disagreed with me vehemently and challenged my calling and threatened me with censure, unemployment, ridicule and criticism and I have crumbled in a heap of anxiety, fear, and anger. I have discovered that I have little to no experience dealing with real persecution.

Dear Jesus, thank you for reminding me that preaching the gospel will inevitably bring trouble. Please grant me the ability to rejoice and be glad when persecuting pressures arise from inside and outside the church. I’m looking forward to your soon return when all those who have loved you and endured pain for you will ascend from the earth like Elijah and receive the blessing of the heavenly kingdom. Amen!

2 thoughts on “Persecution

  1. Thank you for this, Pastor.
    My friend and I visited this morning wondering what “true faith” looks like. She commented, she is very good at “hope” but faith? It is not as easy. I totally concur.
    This past week I experienced a situation that has tested my faith deeply, because I know we live in a fallen world and there will be times the enemy appears to be winning.
    Persecution wears many faces – may we all grow that “faith muscle” to believe with confidence in spite of how things appear to us.
    As things progress to the end, we will many times feel alone and be tested to the limit.
    Let’s really pray for one another!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started