To Fully Know the Father

To Fully Know the Father

Matthew 11:25 – At that time Jesus said, “I praise you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, because you have hidden these things from wise and intelligent people and have revealed them to infants. 26 – Yes, Father, because this is what was pleasing to you.

Verse 27 – All things have been entrusted to me by my Father. No one fully knows the Son except the Father, and no one fully knows the Father except the Son and the person to whom the Son chooses to reveal him.

To fully know the Heavenly Father we must be chosen by the Son to have the Father revealed to us. How are we chosen by the Son? By responding to His invitation to come to Him. In verse 28 Jesus says: “Come to me, all of you who are weary and loaded down with burdens, and I will give you rest.

Both my parents had their ways of showing me how to come to Jesus – but today I want to remember my Dad. Every day that I can remember as a child, no matter how late my Dad went to bed, he always had the same routine every morning. The first thing he always did was Bible study and prayer. My Dad’s life was filled with mistakes and poor decisions – but the best decisions he ever made was in always coming back to Jesus every day no matter what. One of his favorite Bible verses he loved to share was that of Philip asking Jesus: “Lord, show us the Father, and that will satisfy us.” “Have I been with you all this time, Philip, and you still do not know me?” Jesus asked him. “The person who has seen me has seen the Father. So how can you say, ‘Show us the Father’?” – John 14:8, 9.

Today, I want to be the same example to my kids that my Dad was to me. I’ve made my own share of mistakes which they’ve all witnessed but I want them to see me constantly come back to Jesus. I want them to see that Jesus has chosen me and that Jesus has chosen them too.

Today, my Dad is resting in the grave and one day I’ll be resting in the grave too, waiting for the wake up call of Jesus Christ at His second coming. I want to leave behind for my kids the same thing my Dad left behind for me – the memory of a man, a Father, a friend who chose to respond to the invitation of Jesus Christ every day.

“And this is eternal life: to know you, the only true God, and the one whom you sent – Jesus the Messiah.” – John 17:3

Happy Father’s Day!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started