In Memory of Jonathan

In Memory of Jonathan

2 Samuel 9:1 – Later on, David asked, “Is there anyone left alive from Saul’s household to whom I can show gracious love in memory of Jonathan?” 2 – A household servant of Saul named Ziba was called to appear before David, and the king asked him, “Are you Ziba?” “I am your servant,” Ziba replied.

Verse 3 – At this the king asked, “Isn’t there still someone left from Saul’s household to whom I may show God’s gracious love?” “There’s Jonathan’s son. He has maimed feet,” Ziba answered.

David intended to keep the covenant that he and Jonathan had made together according to 1 Samuel 20:15 – “And don’t stop showing your gracious love to my family forever, not even when the LORD eliminates each of David’s enemies from the surface of the earth.” 16 – Jonathan made a covenant with the house of David: “May the LORD punish any violation of this covenant by the hand of David’s enemies.’ 17 – Jonathan made David vow again out of his love for him, because he loved him as himself.

So, then, what did God’s gracious love look like for Jonathan’s son? 2 Samuel 9:6 says: When Mephibosheth, Jonathan’s son and grandson of Saul, approached David, he threw himself on his face out of respect. “Mephibosheth!” David said as he greeted him. “Hello! I am your servant,” he replied. 7 – “Don’t be afraid,” David reassured him, “because I’m going to show gracious love to you in memory of your father Jonathan. I’m going to restore to you all the land that belonged to your grandfather Saul, and you’ll always have a place at my table!”

What does God’s gracious love look like for His people today? In John 14:1-3, Jesus says: “Don’t let you hearts be troubled. Believe in God, believe also in me. There are many rooms in my Father’s house. If there weren’t, I wouldn’t have told you that I am going away to prepare a place for you, would I? And since I’m going away to prepare a place for you, I’ll come back again and welcome you into my presence, so that you may be where I am.”

Jesus tells us to not be troubled. He tells us to believe in Him. He tells us His Father’s house has room and that He’s preparing unique places for each of us. He tells us that He’s coming back so that we can be with Him. Jesus intends to keep His covenant with all those who believe.

In memory of Jonathan, David restored everything that was Saul’s to Mephibosheth and that he would always have a place at his table, according to the covenant.

The Bible tells us to keep serving the bread (His body) and the cup (His new covenant in His blood) at the table in remembrance of Jesus Christ – For as often as you eat this bread and drink from this cup, you proclaim the Lord’s death until he comes. 1 Corinthians 11:25. When Jesus returns we will be given everything He has promised, according to the covenant – including life eternal. As Ziba led Mephibosheth to David, let us lead as many as possible to claim the covenant promise of Jesus Christ.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started