Nathan’s Oracle to David

Nathan’s Oracle to David

2 Samuel 7:8 – Now therefore this is what you are to tell my servant David: ‘This is what the LORD of Heavenly Armies says: “I took you from the pasture myself – from tending sheep – to become Commander-in-chief over my people, that is, over Israel. 9 – Furthermore, I have remained with you everywhere you have gone, annihilating all your enemies right in front of you. I will make a great reputation for you, like the reputation of great ones who have lived on earth.

Verse 10 – I will establish a homeland for my people – for Israel – planting them so they may live in a secure location where they will never be disturbed anymore. Wicked people will no longer afflict them,as happened in the past 11 – when I had commanded judges to administer my people Israel. I’ll also grant you relief from all your enemies.” The LORD also announces to you: “The LORD will himself build a house for you.

Verse 12 – When your life is complete and you go to join your ancestors, I will raise up your offspring after you, who will come forth from your body, and I will fortify his kingdom. 13 – He will build a temple dedicated to my Name, and I will make the throne of his kingdom last forever. 14 – I will be a father to him, and he will be to me a son who, when he commits iniquity, I will discipline with the rod wielded by armies and with wounds inflicted by human beings.

Verse 15 – But I’ll never remove my gracious love from him as I did from Saul, whom I removed from your presence. 16 – Your dynasty and your kingdom will remain forever in my presence – your throne will be secure forever.” 17 – Nathan communicated this complete oracle to David with precisely these words.

David had been established as king over Judah and all Israel. All that he did pleased the people. This oracle given by God to David through Nathan was in response to David’s desire to build a proper house for God to dwell in. Even though that task would fall to Solomon, a son of David, God gave David a precious promise that His gracious love would never be removed and that his throne would be secure forever. This eternal security was to be found in Jesus Christ Himself.

Jesus tell us today: Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Believe in God, believe also in me. There are many rooms in my Father’s house. If there weren’t, I wouldn’t have told you that I am going away to prepare a place for you would I? And since I’m going away to prepare a place for you, I’ll come back again and welcome you into my presence, so that you may be where I am. – John 14:1-3.

When Jesus comes again we will see our enemies melt away before our eyes and He will take us to His Father’s house, a secure location, in which we will never be disturbed and will no longer suffer affliction. His gracious love and presence will be with us forever and ever. Amen!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started