New Year Series – Grace

New Year Series – Grace

2 Corinthians 12:7 – To keep me from becoming conceited because of the exceptional nature of these revelations, a thorn was given to me and placed in my body. It was Satan’s messenger to keep on tormenting me so that I would not become conceited. 8 – I pleaded with the Lord three times to take it away from me,

verse 9 – but he has told me, “My grace is all you need, because my power is perfected in weakness.” Therefore, I will most happily boast about my weaknesses, so that the Messiah’s power may rest on me. 10 – That is why I take such pleasure in weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and difficulties for the Messiah’s sake, for when I am weak, then I am strong.

This morning’s devotional is a little late because I woke up with a migraine. Though I must share with you that I had asked God the night before what I could possibly share for a devotional this morning. His answer was – “grace”

As I shuffled around in my bed trying to find just the right spot to find a reprieve from the pain, I began to think of all the people that were mentioned in our prayer requests at church yesterday. There are many who are suffering from cancer and grieving the loss of loved ones and that’s just scratching the surface. This is in addition to those whom I know who are dealing with the effects of covid-19, addiction, seizures, mental illness, chronic fatigue, and bodies that are just plain wearing out.

Paul was right. We suffer from many messengers of Satan sent to torment us. Job comes to my mind. All the loss and suffering he experienced was at the hands of all the messengers of Satan. Through all of this Job discovered the same thing Paul did: God’s grace was all he needed.

It is my prayer that as we struggle with these messengers of Satan sent to torment us that we will discover the same things Paul and Job did and be able to say to God with all sincerity: “I know that you can do anything and nothing you plan is impossible.” Job 42:2.

Paul, Job, and Jesus suffered at the hands of Satan. You and I and all those connected to us in our families, our jobs, and at work are all suffering at the hands of Satan – but never forget this. We will be restored by the hands of Jesus Christ.

Job 42:10 says: “The LORD restored Job’s prosperity after he prayed for his friends. The LORD doubled everything that Job had once possessed.”

Romans 8:18 says: “For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed to us.”

This new year, in the midst of our weaknesses and suffering, let us pray for each other and lay hold on God’s grace for help having every confidence that one day soon when Jesus returns He will restore us to a level far surpassing anything we have ever seen or experienced before. May the power of Jesus Christ rest on us all today and every day forever and ever.

Happy New Year!

One thought on “New Year Series – Grace

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started