Christmas Series – Today

Christmas Series – Today

Luke 2:10 – Then the angel told them, “Stop being afraid! Listen! I am bringing you good news of great joy for all the people. 11 – Today your Savior, the Lord Messiah, was born in the City of David.

Verse 12 – And this will be a sign for you: You will find a baby wrapped in strips of cloth and lying in a feeding trough.” 13 – Suddenly, a multitude of the Heavenly Army appeared with the angel, praising God by saying, 14 – “Glory to God in the highest, and peace on earth to people who enjoy his favor!”

I remember as child getting very little sleep the night before Christmas…nothing has changed. The anticipation of gifts given and received was too much for any of us (kids) to get any decent rest and we could hardly wait for our parents to get up so we could get to tearing up the wrapping paper and revealing all the gifts.

Long ago, on a day named ‘today’, the great reveal of the birth of Jesus Christ took place to a group of shepherds. It was finally time and the multitude of angels along with the angel messenger burst forth in a sight and sound celebration that will only be surpassed by another great reveal when Jesus comes again.

As a kid I used to adjust the gifts under the Christmas tree so that I could have a spot to lay down with my head under the tree gazing up at the fake branches laden with lights and decorations. I remember how good I felt.

I’m looking forward to laying down under another tree. A real one, laden with fruit I’ve never seen or tasted before. Here’s how the Bible puts it: “Between the city street and the river, the tree of life was visible from each side. It produced twelve kinds of fruit, each month having its own fruit. The leaves of the tree are for the healing of the nations.” – Revelation 22:2.

One day that day will be today when all the redeemed have completed the trip from earth to heaven and Jesus will reveal all the gifts He has been preparing for his children.

What a day that will be! When my Jesus I shall see, And I look upon His face, The One who saved me by His grace; When He takes me by the hand, And leads me through the Promised Land, What a day, glorious day that will be – Bill & Gloria Gaither.

There’s very little one can trust coming from the world – I will trust in this: “Jesus loves me this I know, for the Bible tells me so, little ones to Him belong, we are weak, but He is strong!!” – Anna B. Warner

On a day called ‘today’ Jesus Christ was born. On a day called ‘today’ Jesus Christ will return. “Glory to God in the highest, and peace on earth to people who enjoy his favor!” – Luke 2:14.

May you be conscious, today, of the love and favor of Jesus Christ.

May you, dear reader, have a very merry Christmas!!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started