The Fourth Blessing

The Fourth Blessing

Numbers 24:15 – Then he uttered this oracle: “The oracle of Balaam son of Beor; the oracle of the man whose eyes are open; 16 – the oracle of the one who hears the words of God, and who knows the knowledge of the Most High, who sees a vision from the Almighty, although falling flat on the ground with eyes open:

verse 17 – ‘I see him, but not now; I behold him, but not close at hand. A star will march forth out of Jacob, and a scepter will rise out of Israel. He will crush the skulls of Moab, and the heads of all the sons of Sheth.

Verse 18 – Edom will be a possession, Seir, his enemies, will also be a possession; but Israel will act valiantly. 19 – A ruler will be established from Jacob; he will destroy the remains of the city.’”

It is in this fourth blessing that we find the famous prophecy about the star. The very same star that the wise men from the east followed all the way to Jerusalem saying, “Where is the one who is born king of the Jews? For we saw his star when it rose and have come to worship him.” – Matthew 2:2

If there is one overall theme in all these prophecies of Balaam, it is this: God wins. There is even a ruler who arises out of Jacob. That ruler is Jesus Christ. Balaam was privileged to hear and to see all that God was going to do. Balak was present to hear all that God was going to do in blessing Israel and all that God was going to do to the surrounding nations. Balak learned that his people would eventually be crushed by the ruler coming out of Jacob.

Balaam went on to say these words in verse 23 – “O, who will survive when God does this!”

Who will survive when God fulfills His prophecies and his victory is complete? Don’t worry God plans to have survivors. We can be among them.

Check out these verses in Psalm 118:

verse 5 – In my distress I cried out to the LORD. The LORD answered me and put me in a wide open place. 6 – The LORD is on my side, I am not afraid! What can people do to me? 7 – The LORD is on my side as my helper. I look in triumph on those who hate me.

Through all these prophecies Balak learned one thing over and over again. The Lord, the almighty God was always going to side with his people.

It is the same today. Let us continually, with eyes and ears open, immerse ourselves in God’s promises and learn that He will always side with those He loves. Let us love Him and trust Him with our lives because He will win and with His victory, we win too!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started