Holy Reputation of God

Holy Reputation of God

Ezekiel 36:21 – I was concerned for my holy reputation which the house of Israel profaned among the nations where they went. 22 – “Therefore say to the house of Israel, ‘This is what the sovereign LORD says: It is not for your sake that I am about to act, O house of Israel, but for the sake of my holy reputation which you profaned among the nations where you went. 23 – I will magnify my great name that has been profaned among the nations, that you have profaned among them. The nations will know that I am the LORD, declares the sovereign LORD, when I magnify myself among you in their sight.

Verse 24 – “‘I will take you from the nations and gather you from all the countries; then I will bring you to your land. 25 – I will sprinkle you with pure water and you will be clean from all your impurities. I will purify you from all your idols. 26 – I will give you a new heart, and I will put a new spirit within you. I will remove the heart of stone from your body and give you a heart of flesh. 27 – I will put my Spirit within you; I will take the initiative and you will obey my statutes and carefully observe my regulations. 28 – Then you will live in the land I gave to your fathers; you will be my people, and I will be your God.

What kind of reputation does God want to build for Himself?  A good one!  A holy one!  One that says: ‘I’m going to take these people who have really messed up and make them into something good – then others will know who I really am.’

But God demonstrates his own love for us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Much more then, because we have now been declared righteous by his blood, we will be saved through him from God’s wrath. For if while we were enemies we were reconciled to God through the death of his Son, how much more, since we have been reconciled, will we be saved by his life?  Not only this, but we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ through whom we have now received this reconciliation. – Romans 5:8-11.

God’s reputation is a holy thing – so holy that He will take the initiative and change our heart and our spirit and transform us into a holy people – so others will see and know that He is good and He is love!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started